Catholic 7 progressing further

January 4, 2013 - As the Catholic 7 - the group of BIG EAST schools devoid of Football Championship Series football programs - coalesces and develops their plan to leave the conference, details are slowly emerging. Consisting of Georgetown, Villanova, DePaul, Providence, St. John's, Marquette and Seton Hall, this group has indicated their departure will be orderly and measured.
Apparently presidents of schools in this group of seven met in New York to hammer out some details. The following statement was issued; basically they've lawyered up, while also securing a marketing/message relaying firm:
January 4, 2013
Statement from the presidents of the seven basketball member schools of the Big East conference
Earlier today, university presidents representing the seven basketball schools of the Big East met in New York to discuss our orderly evolution to a foundation of basketball schools that continues to honor the history and tradition on which the Big East was established.
We have retained the services of Proskauer Rose LLP and Pilson Communications, Inc.
We had a very productive engagement among our group of seven and expect that there will be ongoing discussion and conversation among our group and our colleagues in the Big East as we continue to pursue our evolution.